how to get (stand-by) tickets to snl.

So. You want to see Saturday Night Live, well, live. Let’s begin with one word: Perseverance.

And two more: Good luck.

In hopes of helping and entertaining you, here’s our story.

For those of you who are unfamiliar with the NBC process from hell, there are only two ways you can get tickets to the show (or three, if you count knowing someone in the show who can get you VIP tickets, but I’m going to assume that if you’re reading this, that’s not a feasible option):

1. Send your name and contact information to snltickets@nbcuni.com during the month of August and be very, very lucky. On an NBC studio tour, our guide told us that 50,000 people email for tickets and 1,500 win a pair (that’s 3% folks, so keep trying).

2. The stand-by line:

Our fun little (or long) story about the stand-by line, in handy, bullet-point form:

  • Upon first arriving at NBC Studios, we counted about 45 people in line ahead of us. We knew (from previous experience) that this number would grow because – despite NBC’s warning – friends always join late. But as long as it didn’t grow past 60 (split this number in half – 30 – since some will chose dress rehearsal tickets and some will chose live tickets), then we’d receive the 30th (or so) ticket and most likely get in.
  • The people in front of us arrived just before 4:30pm and the people behind us did not arrive until 5:30pm
  • Our chances were pretty good, so we decided to stay the night.
  • A quick warning: Be prepared for every other person to ask you what you’re waiting for and every third person to ask you if you’re Occupy Wall Street. Yeah.
  • We settled in, and Lorne Michaels sent everyone split pea soup at 10pm or so, which was a very nice surprise.
  • At 7am the morning (more details on the night coming below), we got to choose if we wanted to take the dress rehearsal or live show tickets. The dress rehearsal tickets were at number 23 and live show tickets were at least at 35. Naturally, we took the dress rehearsal (the general consensus is you should pick the show with the lowest ticket number, although rumor has it that a few more stand-by get into the dress compared to the live show).
  • Don’t bother attempting to camp out for someone else (they better be offering you a lot of money if you were considering this). It used to be easy enough, but NBC has increased their thoroughness as of January 2012; they write down your name in the morning and check your photo ID before they hand you your stand-by ticket, and then they check your name when you return in the evening and scrutinize your face as they compare it to your ID picture.
  • By the time you get your ticket, and your face, hair, and body have been utterly destroyed, you forgot why you wanted it so badly all along. All you want is a soft, warm, surface to lie down on forever.
  • In the evening, after sleeping all day, we returned to NBC studios to line up yet again – inside this time, thankfully – to see if we made the cut. They kept us waiting in suspense for much too long, and finally told us how many stand-by they needed. For our show, it was 28 people. I may have screamed a little bit when I found out we were in.
  • The dress rehearsal is an extra 40 minutes (8pm-10:10pm) of material that no one else gets to see. Plus, your laughter decides what makes it into the live show. I highly recommend choosing dress tickets for this reason.
  • Just to be clear: it is worth it. So, so worth it. If you are a fan of the show, the host, the musical guest, television production, or comedy in general (or all of these things, like me), it is one of the best things you can possibly do in NYC.
So, if you decide to attempt this crazy feat, here are some extra, essential things you should know:
  • What to bring: Of course this varies by time of year/weather, but if you go when it’s going to get below 45 degrees F at night, keep reading. Layers. Tights, then leggings, then jeans, then sweat pants, and at least 3 jackets. Plenty of blankets. A pillow. If you have access to folding chairs, a small air mattress (or even a small tent if you’re feeling adventurous), you will thank yourself at around 4 in the morning. Our secret weapon: Hot Hands (shake up) hand warmers. Stuff them in your pants, shoes, gloves, scarf – everywhere – to stop the uncontrollable shivering and make everyone around you jealous.
  • Bathrooms (and other essential things, like french fries): You can go inside (and down the stairs of) the building you’re sleeping next to (the lower level of 30 Rock) to use their bathrooms until midnight (depending on the time of year). If you need a bathroom (or you get a french fry craving in the middle of the night – I’m telling you now, you probably will), there are two 24/7 McDonalds nearby. The one between 46th and 47th on 6th avenue has much nicer bathrooms (upstairs).

Final notes (I promise):

  • A note on the number of people who typically get in: We spoke to several people in line who had different experiences with the amount of people who got into shows in the past, and the general consensus was about 15-40 people get in per show. The number has been both lower and higher, but if there are more than 80 people in front of you when you arrive (so 40 tickets per show), I would suggest going home, making a nice cup of tea, and coming back next Friday.
  • A note on when to arrive to the line: For really, really unpopular shows (think unknown/unliked hosts or really, really cold days), I’ve heard of people arriving at 4AM on Saturday morning and getting a low enough ticket number to get in (Melissa McCarthy/Lady Antebellum). If the show is fairly popular, I would suggest arriving before 6pm on the Friday before. If the show is INSANELY popular (think Emma Stone and Coldplay), get ready to camp out for two nights, folks. Yes, the people in the front of the line for that show did, in fact, sleep on the street for two nights in a row. We arrived at 2:00pm on Friday for that show and got tickets 57-60 for the dress rehearsal (we didn’t get in – 38 people got into the dress, 7 got into the live. We’re only a little bitter about this).

I hope you found our experience helpful and (at least slightly) amusing. If you’ve camped out before, please share your experiences/tips/stories in the comments. If you’re planning to camp out and you have any more questions, feel free to ask in the comments as well.

Stay tuned for more NYC adventures and amazing things to do in this incredible city.

x.

23 thoughts on “how to get (stand-by) tickets to snl.

  1. Is there wifi to connect to? Silly question I guess, but just wondering how you dealt with that aspect since to much phone use will kill your battery

    • I don’t believe there’s wifi in line, but there are several Starbucks stores nearby. While in line, we used our phones sparingly and brought a couple of DVDs to play on our laptops rather than going online. Good luck!

  2. awesome blog,, going for my 3rd standby try,,, im from LV,,, hoping 3rd times the charm…. host / musical guest,,, bruno mars,,, thinking about 3am ish ??? and seriously considering rehersal tks,,, ive always tried for live,,, and been really close only once,,,,, will keep you posted !!! wheeeeee,,,, I love NYC

    • Thanks for reading! I’d go a little before 3AM (maybe 11PM) since it’s still fairly warm in NYC, so more people will try for tickets. Good for you for not giving up! The rehearsal show is fantastic–go for it if the ticket number is lower. Good luck and let us know how it goes!

      • Hey! I was wondering if you could give me some advice on trying to get stand by tickets. As a christmas present I am going to New York on jan 19 to see jennifer lawrence. We were planning on getting in line at 1 am. I am just not sure how popular Jennifer lawrence would be. I am 17
        so I know she is popular with my age
        group but not sure about the older snl fans. Most teenagers wouldn’t stand in the cold for hours like I am prepared to do. Do you think I should get they earlier or is that a good time to go? Thanks for your time!

      • Hey thanks for reading Caroline! The best arrival time will definitely depend upon the weather on the 19th. If it’s especially cold (below freezing), there will be fewer people. I will say, though, that the general age of people who camp out for tickets is between 15 and 25, so there may actually be quite a few Jennifer Lawrence fans (and Lumineers fans) ready to stake out their spots. So if you’re really determined to see SNL while you’re in NYC (and this is your only chance) I would highly recommend getting there around 6PM on Friday just to see what the line is like. You can always leave and come back if you’re way too early, but I can almost promise that people will already be lining up by then. Good luck, stay warm, and have fun in New York!

  3. Thanks for the response! I would love to get there early but I don’t live near New York so I have to take a bus… which doesn’t allow me to get there early enough.. hopefully it will be cold and all the wimps will go inside and I will get the tickets!! Thanks for all the tips on your blog! They really helped me for planning for my trip! Hopefully I will see my idol in my fav tv show!!

  4. Thanks for this post. I’m planning on trying for may 11 2013 the kristen wiig/ vampire weekend show, at what time do you suggest lining up? I was thinking around 6pm the Friday before. Thanks in advance!

    • No problem! I can’t say with any definite certainty, but I would guess that since it’s May (i.e. much warmer than when I went in January) and since those are two pretty big names, you should get there early on Friday. It wouldn’t hurt to get there in the morning (if you can spare the time), set up camp in line with a couple friends, and then take shifts of staying with your things. Just make friends with the people around you and they won’t be too bitter when you take breaks from the line. Good luck!

  5. I should mention this is my first time trying, I am a huge kristen wiig fan and will be coming from colorado. Do you have any other tips ,I’m willing to do whatever I need to ,to make it in and I don’t mind seeing dress rehearsal or live. Thanks so much for your everything!

    • Hi again Barbie – how long will you be in NYC? If you’re arriving on Thursday, it wouldn’t hurt to stop by Rockefeller Center Thursday night just to see if any diehard fans are already camping out. I highly doubt this, but you never know. If no one is there yet, get a good night’s sleep (in an actual bed) and come back Friday morning. My advice is to bring lots to do/eat and pillows/blankets/chairs to sit on. Don’t bother staying in line if there are more than 70 people in front of you (it’s very unlikely that more than 35 people per show will get in). I also HIGHLY recommend the rehearsal (if the ticket number is lower). Good luck and let me know how it goes!

  6. Hi again and thanks for taking the time to reply! I will be getting there Wednesday night. Should I anticipate starting to camp on Thursday?! Like I said my sole reason for going to NYC is to see this show so I will stay 2 days if I have to! When you say no more than 35 people per show? Do you mean dress and live together? And also how big of a crowd do you think kristen wiig will draw having made the attempt before? Shes not Justin timberlake but of course is a former cast member, I guess I’m worried that I’m being naive in thinking I can actually do this! I’m getting nervous! I mean do people normally camp out for 2 nights?

    • Hi again Barbie–don’t worry! I’m just being extra cautious. What I can tell you from experience is that the Emma Stone/Coldplay show and the Justin Beiber show both drew people out who camped for two nights. I HIGHLY doubt Kristin Wiig will be as popular, but I was just suggesting that you walk by on Thursday night to see (since this is the only reason you’re in NY, and I want to make sure you get in!). My best guess is if you line up by noon on Saturday, you should be good to go.

      What I mean about 35 per show: like I mentioned in my above post, on Saturday morning, NBC workers will go through the line and let you choose if you want stand-by tickets to the dress or to the live show. Although they give out over 100 stand-by tickets for each show in the morning, that’s NO guarantee that you’ll get in at night–you have to come back in the evening and wait to see how many people they actually need. Getting back to my point–if there are 70 people in line ahead of you, then that’s ABOUT 35 tickets for each show ahead of you (it might not be split exactly, as more people tend to choose the live tickets). From the two times I went to see DRESS, about 25-30 people got in. My best (and probably most obvious) advice is to choose the ticket with the LOWEST number (which will most likely be the dress, unless you’re one of the first in line).
      I don’t mean to make you worry! On the very bright side, you will be staying the night when it’s WARM which is so much better. Don’t forget to have fun 🙂

  7. Hi Barbie,
    I’ll be doing standby as well for May 11th! My friend and I are coming from Canada. We’re thinking of going in the morning around 10 or 11. Hopefully we run into each other! If not best of luck getting in!

  8. Just wanted to come and update that i got in!! i arrived around 2 pm on thursday and there were already 23 people so i stayed. i got ticket number 9 for dress and got in essily. The show was amazing and i got a really good seat, afterwards i met the entire cast! Truly a dream come true 🙂 So funny , I just saw pickles comment and I met her in line.

Leave a comment